Are you at a point where you’ve been using Notion for a while and you no longer find it useful? Do you want to know how to delete workspace in Notion and erase all of your data?
There are many reasons why you’d want to delete your Notion workspace. Some of them are:
- You no longer use the Notion app.
- You no longer trust Notion to keep your data safe.
- You are moving to some other app
Deleting a Notion workspace is a simple and straightforward process. You can instantly delete all your data with just a few clicks.
In this article, I am going to show you how to do that exactly. Let’s get started!
How To Delete Workspace in Notion
Before you begin the process of deleting your Notion workspace, keep in mind that there is no way to recover it if you delete it by accident and 30 days have passed since then. The data is permanently deleted from the Notion server and you can’t recover it. If you ever want to recover your deleted workspace, you need to contact the Notion support team within 30 days and they’ll be happy to restore your databases.
Now that we understand the risk that involves with the deletion of a Notion workspace, let’s check out the actual steps.
Delete Notion Workspace on Desktop
- To delete a workspace, first go to the Settings by clicking Settings and Members option from the sidebar.
- This will open the Settings popup, where you must click on Settings under the Workspace section.
- On the Workspace settings page, scroll down to the Danger Zone and you’ll see a red button that says “Delete entire workspace”. Click on it and it’ll open a popup.
- In the popup, you need to enter the name of the workspace you’d like to delete. Enter that and then click on “Permanently delete workspace”.
As soon as you do that, the workspace and all the pages that are included in it will be permanently deleted.
Isn’t it simple and straightforward?
Delete Notion Workspace on Mobile
It is not possible to delete a Notion workspace on mobile — Android or iOS. To delete the workspace, you’ll need to use the Notion desktop app or log in to the web version.
Leave Notion Workspace Instead of Deleting It
If you’re a member of a workspace that you didn’t create and want to leave, it’s simple. There might come a time when you are no longer part of the team and you want to remove workspace from your account.
In such cases, you cannot delete the workspace but can instead remove yourself from it.
If you are a part of such a workspace, let’s see how you can leave it.
- From the desktop or web Notion app, click the Settings on the sidebar.
- This will open the settings popup where under the Workspace option, you can click on the Leave workspace button.
As soon as you do that, you’ll be removed from that workspace and you’ll lose access to all the content of that workspace. Though, you can always ask the admin to add you back.
Delete Notion Account
Instead of deleting a single Notion workspace, you might want to delete the entire Notion account and all associated workspaces.
This saves you from having to delete each workspace individually. More information on this can be found in our other article on how to delete the Notion account.
That’s all for this tutorial! You can also check out other Notion tutorials if you want to learn more about the app.
If you have any questions, please leave them in the comment section below.